Fall Fresh on Me

Day two of the Scentsy Blog Party! Make sure to check out Tracy’s page. Have I even told you they have a fragrance called “Central Park Pralines?” It is my personal favorite and it is yummo! If you are interested in fall fragrances for your home, check out Tracy’s Scentsy homepage and click on the lower left hand side where you see my name. Contact me if you have questions!

Another reason for the the week-long fall-celebrating blog party is to introduce you to some of my fellow blogger friends!  It has been my desire to feature some blogs written by friends of mine who have their own hearts for ministry. I wanted to center things around a common theme and “fall” is it! There is so much to read and write about concerning this time of year and I thought it would be neat to ask writers to express their thoughts to you the readers. This way we can all gain from one another’s experiences, as well as become acquianted with new blogs that we can read and enjoy! 

Today I am featuring my girl, Jenny Thompson. Jenny will always be dear to my heart because of her love for God and the fact that she introduced me to the Swagger Wagon Rap Song. I mean, some people just tattoo themselves on your heart forever.  She had me at hello. 

Ladies and gentlemen, I am thrilled to introduce you to Jenny Thompson. It is my prayer that you are blessed by Jenny’s  post featured today on my blog. The message is entitled  ‘Fall Fresh on Me!” Check out Jenny’s blog, you will be inspired and encouraged to sing your prayers to God in a fresh new way this season. Great post Jenny T!

Fall Fresh on Me

Seasonal change in Northwest Florida is slow and unpredictable.  Summer folds into Fall at a snail’s pace.  Heat and humidity float through the air well into October, making the desire for cooler weather all the stronger.

Then the winds finally begin to blow.  Fresh winds.  Winds of change. 

This is the Fall I love.  We don’t experience a true Fall here, but I don’t care.  I love it just the same.  Floridians bundled up in their heavy winter coats, as the temperature dips into the “chilly” 50′s. 

Fall signifies newness. 

Heat smothers and chokes me.  It keeps me inside.  Fall beckons me out.  Out of my comfort zone.  Out of the rut I often lapse into over the Summer. 

The cool winds call me to come outside.  To experience God’s creation afresh and anew. 

Yes, this is the Fall I love.  Sitting on my back porch, watching the leaves change. 

A breeze hits my skin and I begin to sense a change in my spirit as well.  The coolness in the air inspires a calmness in my heart, causing me to slow down.  To take fewer steps.  To revel in the day ahead. 

On my porch, amidst hues of fiery red, golden orange, and rusty brown, a song wells up in my soul.  I begin to hum.  Soon, I’m singing full throttle into the trees a familiar refrain. 

Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me

Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me

Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me

Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me

I sing with all my heart and a prayer is lifted up.  May I change just like the leaves into something new that can be used of You.  Let my heart reveal true, vivid colors that burn for You as the change of Your light and living water flow through me.  Yes, Holy Spirit, fall fresh on me.

By Jenny Thompson 

Jenny Thompson (aka “Titanium Woman”) is just a writing, crafting, photo taking, singing, guitar playing, “computering” mom, trying her best to live up to her super hero alter ego while living a life for God.  She and her husband, Paul, have a 7-year-old daughter named Ella who keeps them on their toes.

**How Jenny won my heart ;o)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Fresh on Me

  1. Melissa says:

    I would enjoy a singing neighbor. What a great picture of appreciation for His creation. :)

  2. Marilyn Bridges says:

    This is so beautifully put. I share the passion for this season and spiritual refreshing it brings.

Leave a Reply

