I’m Supposed to Be…

Fourteen days, or just two weeks.

I was accepted into an accelerated nursing program at the University of South Alabama. The start date was the first week of January, 2012. Always wanting to work in church ministry and worship, I was going to school in order to pursue something secondary.  Not secondary in importance as far as jobs are concerned, secondary as far as my personal passions are concerned.  I know several nurses and admire them all for what they do. It’s an amazing job! I knew this would be an outstanding field and a great profession. Nursing would supply me with a means to help provide for my family, as well as, be a job I could do while being involved with other activities. Things such as, teaching bible studies and worship–my heart’s passion, but something that had never translated into any kind of full-time work. So full steam ahead, I pursued work in order to free myself for ministry. After all, if bi-vocational ministry was good enough for the Apostle Paul, it was more than good enough for me! I was 13 years old when the LORD spoke to my heart about spending my life in ministry for Him. I was determined to do it, no matter what the final result looked like. So nursing school was calling and it was 14 days away.

You often hear people say, “Well, I guess God had other plans, ” and ya know what, I guess He did. You also hear people say, “If you are not where God wants you to be and you are seeking Him, He will stop at nothing to put you in the center of His will.” Ya know, maybe He does.

Two weeks before the start of a crash course year in nursing, I was offered a position as the worship leader, at Coastline Calvary Chapel in Gulf Breeze, FL. I was also offered the opportunity there to help with women’s discipleship.  After much prayer and, admittedly, trepidation; Seth and I accepted the job.  We moved our family to Coastline Calvary Chapel.

Scary? Yes. Intimidating? Sure. Uncertain? Absolutely.

Fast forward three months and I find myself standing on the stage of the Saenger Theater. Who would have thought that I would be given the distinct privilege of planning a celebration service for the King of Kings? We are in a full rehearsal mode, for Easter Sunday service, yet we find ourselves entrenched in worship. A gifted partner in ministry, Jessica Howell, just finishes the song “Waiting Here For You,” and we transition into singing, “The More I Seek You.”  My heart exudes gratefulness and praise to our Great God.  Gratefulness for a pastor who took a chance on me, a staff and a congregation that lovingly support me, friends and family who have prayed for me, and a God who never forgot the dream He put in the heart of a 13-year-old girl.

Tears stream down my face, my voice breaks audibly in the microphone, mid verse. I’m completely choked with thankfulness and all I can think is, “I’m supposed to be in nursing school.”

All if this is for a time. Who knows how long anything we do will last? Maybe one day I will, in fact, find myself serving God while attending nursing school. As I said, it’s an amazing profession. But today, I’m here, right where God has me. He has plans. Plans for you and plans for me. Trust them, believe in them, and never give up on the dreams God places within the human soul. Watching our Father do things only He can do, and seeing Him orchestrate His unstoppable will for your life; it makes for the sweetest memories one could ever hope to have. What an Easter, what a Savior!

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

photography by Ryan Spencer

This entry was posted in Faith, Life, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m Supposed to Be…

  1. Natalie Jolly says:

    What a gift you hae, to be able to openly speak about your relationship with your Savior, and communicate so well. I’m so proud of you! Keep the faith and continue your excellent leadership and inspiration in the name of Jesus. Mrs. Jolly

  2. Janet Lister says:

    Love it. Completely love it. God is so faithful and so accurate!!!!!

  3. Lynn Spencer says:

    You know I love this story………:) We get to serve a BIG GOD!

  4. Angela says:

    Oh Leah, who knew tears tasted so good in coffee! Blessed to call you friend.

  5. Nancy Brown says:

    Leah, God has always had His Hand and Plan for you. I know you will recall this is the same verse that God gave to me for all of you in the youth choir back at PFUMC. I sit for many days and just look at the Awesomeness of God and how He has placed many of you in ministry. I am so glad we serve an Aswesome God. Blessings

  6. Jordan Smith says:

    Leah, this is more encouraging than you know. I’ve been reading along your journey into Coastline and to see what God has done and how He’s filling you up with Him has brought such hope for the future He has for me!

  7. Linda Smith says:

    Easter Sunday was an aweing day for me! My favorite quotes of the day “Cirle and pray, just cirle and pray”, “Let’s just see what God will do!” and move He did!! So many gave their lives to the Lord, impacted for Eternity! What “a get to” Sunday was!!!
    Linda Smith

  8. Michelle Dycus says:

    Beautiful testimony of God’s Sovereignty and Love in your life Leah!! I am so privileged to see Him blessing you in your gifts and talents. Amazing love…How can it be…That You would die for me… Love you Sista!!

  9. Jody Neufeld says:

    Thank you, Leah, for opening the valve inside of you so that as YOU were encouraged — you allowed that encouragement to continue to flow — and so this morning it continues to flow on as I shared it with others in a devotion — http://jody.energion.com/?p=4385

  10. Katherine Bradley says:

    I have tears streaming down my face as I read this. Things have been upside down in my family’s life for the last 9 months or so and while we’ve gotten used to the new “normal,” things have been turned on its side again in the last couple of days. It’s so refreshing to hear from others that God has a plan and that he will keep his promises to his children. Thank you for posting and sharing your heart.

Leave a Reply

